PlaySMS 1.4.2 changing language doesnt do anything

Hello together,

I am totally new to PlaySMS and have set up the latest official 1.4.2 of it on Debian Stretch using Apache2 and PHP 7.0 and Gammu-SMSD (may I switch later on to smstools, as there it did work to set the PIN in the config, but that’s another story, fixed it with a Shellscript for now that sends the PIN to the Device :D).

It seems to work nicely but it doesn’t matter which language I select in the Webinterface it remains in English and I would like to switch to german. I googled a lot and found Anton’s old suggestions which might be not up to date anymore, idk. So I tried the language packages and their dependencies from Ubuntu but it didn’t change anything so I removed them again, afterwards I tried to find something similiar so I gave the Debian Package locales-all a shot, same result. Would be great if somebody has a clue where this issue is comming from or how to solve it :slight_smile: .

I appreciate all the work that has been put into PlaySMS, I like it a lot so far :))

BTW: I also don’t like the Install as it is not a Debian package that can be “cleanly” installed and removed, so “I may” package PlaySMS later on for Debian Linux and share it, as it looks to good for not beeing packaged :).

Best regards,
Flashdown

Hello Flashdown, I have the same issue and I think this is because we are using PHP 7.x.
I am investiguating the code to find what is going on.
I have a workaround in order to configure PlaySMS in your language. You should configure it in MySQL table:

mysql -u root -p****** playsms -e “update playsms_tblUser set language_module=‘fr_FR’ where username=‘admin’”

Hope it will help for the moment.
I have open a case few days ago with the same subject, I hope Anton will answer.

BR

I think I have found the solution.
I have commented the variable $lang_list = ‘’ on each following file and it works:

grep -r “lang_list = ‘’” /var/www/html/playsms/*